My two-day workshop in St. Augustine, FL

Over a year ago, Hanneke Jevons and Bill Shoemaker, president and vice-president of CPSA DC117 St. Augustine, FL invited me to teach a two-day workshop for their chapter in 2017. I was very flattered! This was going to be my first time teaching a workshop “on the road”, outside the San Francisco bay area. We decided on the theme of “Landscape Textures and Techniques in Colored Pencil”, based on the “winning power” of my trees–three have been in CPSA International Exhibitions, two of those have won significant awards in it, all three have sold (one for $3600), and they seem to be admired far and wide. Probably because my admiration of remarkable trees comes through in my drawings of them….

I was grateful to have plenty of time to work out the details and even “test drive” the workshop in one-day form locally. Grasses, moss, bark, leaves, and rocks each pose challenges for which I’ve figured out solutions.

We agreed to limit registration to 24 students, and wow! It sold out so quickly, they didn’t even get to advertise it.

As the time drew near, I gathered the materials for each student: a class outline, drawing papers, an extra piece of plain paper for a hand shield, reference photos, four luscious Caran d’Ache pencils (two Pablo, two Luminance) and information about them courtesy of Creative Art Materials, colorless blender, value finders, stylus, and poster putty. I wished for a way to take along some interesting bark and moss from my collection, but they are too delicate to survive transport (they don’t even like being moved to dust under them on the shelf).

Hanneke generously offered to host me at her home.  She picked me up from the Daytona airport at midnight on March 2. The next day, we had a yummy breakfast at the Funky Pelican in Flagler Beach, she gave me a tour of the area, I got to see the chapter’s show on display at the Flagler County Art League‘s gallery in Palm Coast, we assembled the student packets, we set up the workshop room at the Palm Coast Community Center, and we had a great dinner with Bill and a couple of other folks. The weather was perfect, in the 60s with no excessive humidity, and I was delighted to have the opportunity watch an active osprey pair with their nest just a couple of blocks from Hanneke’s house.

Saturday we focused on grasses and bark. Sunday we focused on moss and rock, and then launched into a bigger project of the base of a tree, with the encouragement that by then they knew the tools and techniques they needed to tackle it. I won’t bore you with the details…. I’ll let their photos tell you! I was very pleased with everyone’s progress–they really “got it”, even those who went through a period of frustration first.

IMG_3133IMG_3143

IMG_3149.jpg

I gave everyone an overnight homework assignment between Saturday and Sunday, to find and bring in some natural item with texture. I made a bet with Hanneke that fewer than half would remember to do it, and she wisely took the bet, because I was wrong! We had quite an assortment on display for Sunday, from a dried palm seed stalk, to rocks and even a bird nest. I wish I’d thought to take photos of them…..

Sunday evening, Bill and I had a tasty dinner at Bob Evans, a restaurant we don’t have in California that I miss from my years in the midwest. Unfortunately, our pleasant evening was marred by witnessing a fatal bicycle/SUV collision, which shook us both up.

On Monday morning, Hanneke took me to see the trees at Princess Place Preserve and her little farm and cows, before taking me to the airport for my return trip.

IMG_3155

IMG_6823

I can’t thank Hanneke and Bill enough for making this workshop trip possible!

I’ll be teaching the one-day version of this workshop again next Saturday (March 25) for CPSA DC 214 Los Angeles. I can’t wait!

 

2 thoughts on “My two-day workshop in St. Augustine, FL

  1. Sounds like a very creative workshop! And what a beautiful place! Congratulations on all your recent successes.

  2. That looks like you had an awesome time. And I certainly enjoyed you 1-day “test-drive” at the PAL several weeks back. Congratulations on a successful class!

Leave a Reply

