The (back) cover of a book!

I’m a couple of months late in tooting my horn about this. I blame my broken collarbone, because the break happened just a day or two after this happy milestone, before I had a chance to sit down and write about it.

In early October I received my advance copy of Strokes of Genius 8: Expressive Texture, a beautiful hard-bound art book from North Light Books edited by Rachel Rubin Wolf.  My Tree of Character was selected for inclusion in it almost a year ago–books take a long time to assemble.  So I hastily opened the package and started browsing through it, marveling at the quality of all the drawings that mine was honored to be among and noting that the color fidelity for mine was quite good.  Then I flipped it over to check out the back cover, and I almost dropped it: my Tree of Character IS the back cover!  This was the best surprise of 2016!

strokes8

A couple of friends asked me “Did they have your permission to do that?” and “Did they pay you extra for using it that way?”  Yes, you grant publishers pretty liberal permission to use your images when you submit them for possible inclusion in a book.  And no, you receive no payment for being included inside or out, just bragging rights!

5 thoughts on “The (back) cover of a book!

  1. Beautiful and truly a tree of character. May I post this on Face Book? I have a FB friend who would enjoy seeing this.

    Thank you for your consideration.

    Helen Drake-Perrow

    Helen

    On Sat, Jan 7, 2017 at 8:42 PM, Denise J. Howard’s Art Blog wrote:

    > denisejhoward posted: “I’m a couple of months late in tooting my horn > about this. I blame my broken collarbone, because the break happened just a > day or two after this happy milestone, before I had a chance to sit down > and write about it. In early October I received my advance” >

Leave a Reply

