A broken bone applies the brakes

I’ve been laying low lately.  On October 12, I tipped over on my motorcycle at a measly one mile per hour in a parking lot and broke my collarbone.  I felt it break as I hit the pavement, and felt the broken ends shifting around inside as I tried to do the simplest thing like remove my helmet.  The x-rays at the ER confirmed an uneven and displaced break that required surgery to fix.   They sent me home with a sling and a supply of strong painkillers.  Eight days later, on October 20, I finally got the surgery to install a steel plate to stabilize the broken pieces together.  I spent the next four days sleeping a lot.

collarbonepostsurgery

4.5 days post-surgery.  For the record, my shoulder and arm are not this fat! It’s the post-surgery swelling, just like the bruises.

From the time of the break until a few days after surgery, my husband was quite literally my “right hand man”, and waited on me hand and foot.  For example, I had finished a portrait commission the day before the break; he drove me to Lowe’s to select and cut the portrait shipping materials, then carefully assembled it all for shipping under my instruction and drove me to the post office.  He is accustomed to seeing me constantly on the go with a jam-packed to-do list, and told a friend “Nothing like watching her go from 300 miles per hour to 22 miles per hour in one day!”

I also had to cancel a one-day workshop that was scheduled for the 23rd–3 days after surgery–with 11 people registered.  (It’s been rescheduled for January 15, 2017.)

I’m now 11 days past surgery and healing very well according to my surgeon, in fact I start six weeks of physical therapy tomorrow.

I’ve been learning a lot about how one moment in time and one simple broken bone can turn your life upside down.  We take our abilities for granted until one or more of them is taken away.  The simplest activities like combing my hair and applying mascara became difficult, and activities like tying shoelaces and putting on a pullover shirt became impossible.  I was so happy when I was able to feed myself with my right hand for the first time again, 14 days after the break.  Perhaps the biggest surprise has been that for just one little broken bone, I’ve been needing much more sleep and tiring easily; apparently it takes a lot of energy to heal a break.  I’m grateful for modern medicine which will have me doing everything normally again in just 6-8 weeks!

They say “Art Imitates Life.”  Yesterday was Halloween, so I selected a pumpkin with a “shoulder” and made it into a “self portrait”.  Yes, those are real staples, with Neocolor II wax pastel “bruises”.  My coworkers knew whose pumpkin it was without asking!

It’s been frustrating that with all this “time off”, I haven’t been able to do anything fun.  I couldn’t read because I couldn’t hold a magazine or book open, I couldn’t draw or write because it’s my right shoulder and I’m right-handed, I couldn’t drive somewhere because of the painkillers, I couldn’t go for hikes or walks because of the constant shoulder movement, and of course I couldn’t ride my motorcycle.  All I could really do was watch TV, and one can stand only so much of that.

Now my shoulder is feeling and working better, I can type two-handed, and I’m starting to eye the drawing board again.  I’m expecting to start that next commission later this week, and I can’t wait.

 

3 thoughts on “A broken bone applies the brakes

  1. Don’t worry Denise. You will be alright in few days! You can restart everything you were doing before ! Get well soon! Take care Regards Divya Eby

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

