2014 was a good year! Here comes 2015….

New Year’s Eve is a popular time to reflect on the past 365 days and plan for the next. As I do so, I’m pleased to conclude that 2014 was a good year art-wise!

  • My art and I were the focus of a 30-minute TV program called Talk Art.
  • I had artwork accepted into the UKCPS International Exhibition in Birmingham, England, the CPSA International Exhibition in Ormond Beach, Florida, the Pencil Art Society International Exhibiton in Repentigny, Quebec, the California State Fair in Sacramento, the Richeson 75 Still Life and Floral online exhibition and the Richeson 75 Animals, Birds and Wildlife online exhibition.
  • I was chosen as the featured artist for the July issue of Colored Pencil magazine.
  • Ann Kullberg published my Tiger Swallowtail Butterfly In-Depth Kit.
  • I taught my first colored pencil workshops, at the Pacific Art League in Palo Alto, CA.
  • I had artwork selected for two books: CP Treasures, Vol. III and the upcoming Strokes of Genius 7: Depth, Dimension and Space.
  • I completed 10 new drawings, including 2 portrait commissions.
  • I sold three original artworks.
  • I exhibited at a couple of outdoor festivals.
  • I demoed Caran d’Ache products for Creative Art Materials at a couple of events.
  • I attended the CPSA convention in Florida.

Along with all that, I also kept my CPSA chapter running; we had a presentation at each of our four meetings, hosted a two-day workshop, put together a juried show at a local gallery, had a plein-air outing at a plant nursery, and exhibited at a festival in Livermore.

And I had an involuntary change of day jobs in the middle of it all.  Whew!

So what am I anticipating or shooting for in 2015?  Well, I like to under-promise so I can over-deliver–that’s the software engineer in me speaking up. So here’s a short list….

  • I’ll find out in a couple of weeks whether my entry for CPSA’s Explore This! 11 is accepted; if it is, I will earn CPX signature status.
  • I’m already scheduled to teach my half-day colored pencil workshop on January 11 and April 12.
  • I hope to gain representation by a second gallery.
  • I’ve already registered to participate in Silicon Valley Open Studios for two weekends in May; in fact I’ve volunteered to help SVOS with the matching of artists to group sites, so the work for it has already begun.
  • Although I have no idea yet what I’ll be drawing for them, I plan to enter the UKCPS and CPSA International Exhibitions; if my entries are accepted I’ll earn UKCPS “Silver” and CPSA five-year merit awards.
  • I want to do some work with pastels.  This is an unfulfilled goal from 2014; I did take a 3-day pastel portrait workshop but that was as far as I got.  I have a very nice set of Unison soft pastels calling to me.

Happy New Year 2015!

Leave a Reply

