A New In-Depth Kit from Ann Kullberg, By Me!

image005Ann Kullberg, author of Colored Pencil Portraits Step by Step, publisher of Ann Kullberg’s Colored Pencil Magazine, and publisher of a whole series of step-by-step colored pencil tutorial kits, approached me this spring about producing a new kit featuring a butterfly with a blurry background. What a thrill! Naturally I said yes, since I was already planning to do another such drawing in my series anyway.

I chose a picture of a Western Tiger Swallowtail from my own photo collection as the reference. It took quite awhile to finish the 8″x10″ project. I had to remember to stop frequently to take in-progress photos and write down what my thought process was at every step. It was educational for me, too: I pretended that someone was sitting next to me trying to learn and asking questions, and that taught me to be as clear and concise as possible. I think this will help me be a better workshop instructor down the road. I put special emphasis on how to create a soft, blurry background, since many budding colored pencil artists struggle with this.  It ended up as 24 pages with 48 photos, which is four more pages than usual for these kits, but Ann chose not to cut a single word or image.

This week, the new kit debuted on her website! I hope everyone who purchases it learns something valuable that will make them a better colored pencil artist.

You can buy it here!

butterflyKit

Leave a Reply

