Another goal met: UKCPS signature status

They say things happen in threes, but after the two great pieces of art news I’ve already received this week, I can’t imagine what #3 could be!

On Monday, I learned that my Don’t Take the Bridge has been awarded the Utrecht Art Supplies Award in the upcoming California Fine Arts exhibition at the California State Fair.  This is in addition to the Award of Merit that both it and my other accepted entry, And the World Faded Away are receiving, which comes with a little bit of cash.  It was already an honor just to be in this show:  there were 1577 entries and only 180 of those were accepted, only about an 11% acceptance rate!

Winner of Utrecht Art Supplies Award and Award of Merit, California Fine Arts juried exhibition

Don’t Take the Bridge, winner of Utrecht Art Supplies Award and Award of Merit, California Fine Arts juried exhibition.

Award of Merit winner, California Fine Arts juried exhibition.

And the World Faded Away, Award of Merit winner, California Fine Arts juried exhibition.

Then on Tuesday, I learned that all three of my submissions to the United Kingdom Colored Pencil Society International Exhibition have been accepted.  Furthermore, this is my third acceptance into the show so I have now earned “signature status” in the UKCPS.  (This means I can append “UKCPS” after my name on anything art-related.)

"Cricket Time", accepted into 12th Annual UKCPS Open International Exhibition.

Cricket Time, accepted into 12th Annual UKCPS Open International Exhibition.

"Malay Lacewing", accepted for UKCPS 12th Annual Open International Exhibition.

Malay Lacewing, accepted into 12th Annual UKCPS Open International Exhibition.

"Winter Santa Cruz Sunset", accepted into 12th Annual UKCPS Open International Exhibition.

Winter Santa Cruz Sunset, accepted into 12th Annual UKCPS Open International Exhibition.

The round-trip shipping cost for these three pieces to go to England and back is going to be a small fortune–several hundred dolllars–but nothing art-related is cheap for the artist….

Signature status achieved for both the CPSA and UKCPS in the same year!  Two goals met, but I never imagined I’d fulfill them so quickly after restarting my art career, or with acceptances three years in a row for each.

Lest you think it might go to my head, I still had to come home and clean the litter box!  I do wonder if there’s a third piece of art news for me this week, though….

Leave a Reply

